Installing owncloud on DNS-320 NAS

This post is a tutorial on how to install owncloud on a DLink DNS-320 NAS.

Is tested on DNS-320 NAS but basically applies to any device that supports implementation of fun_plug.

Steps to achieve that are:

  1. Install fun_plug0.5 or fun_plug0.7 on the NAS
  2. Install Debian on the NAS.
  3. Install owncloud on the NAS.
  4. Configure webserver to change webserver’s listening port. This helps in case you want to do port forwarding since many ISP’s have port 80 blocked.

1. Install fun_plug0.5 or fun_plug0.7 on the NAS

Follow one of the bellow links to install fun_plug on NAS:

2. Install Debian on the NAS

Follow link bellow to install Debian Squeeze on NAS

3. Install owncloud on the NAS.

Follow link bellow to install owncloud on  NAS. Avoid any errors ate the moment.

4. Configure webserver to change webserver’s listening port.

Last thing to do is to configure webserver to listen to different port as the NAS by itself has a build in webserver.

Im using vim to edit configuration files.

1. Get root access to NAS.

2. Edit the ports.conf file

  • vim /etc/apache2/ports.conf
  • Change the bellow entries (8888 is the new port number)

NameVirtualHost *:8888

Listen 8888

3. Edit the 000-default file

  • vim /etc/apache2/sites-enabled/000-default
  • Change the below entry

<VirtualHost *:8888>

4. Restart apache webserver

  • service apache2 restart

5. Visit owncloud your from fav browser http :// < your_ip > :8888/owncloud

 

21 thoughts on “Installing owncloud on DNS-320 NAS

    • Performance is suffice. Mostly i have implemented it for prove of concept but i think it worth’s it.No need to be sceptic that you are going to ruin your NAS as no internal files are touched. Don’t hesitate to contact me if you want to proceed with that.

  1. Nice tutoriaI. I followed the instructions but couldn’t get it to work with SSL. https:// redirects to port 80 for some reason but http:// works fine.

  2. Hi,

    I follow the rules however I found that the apache and lighttpd may conflicts. I have changed the port from 80 to 8080. However, they sill conflicts with SSL port, which is 443. If you change the port to 8443 for apache, then apache can start. However, I can’t open it in web browser, as it said that, the ssl connect can not be established.

  3. Debian on my DNS320L *_* So happy. And now the ownCloud works. Thank you ! I just had to change default 443 port from apache to another one, because it was used by lighttpd (like Kant Zhang i think).

  4. Hi there,

    i can’t find the directory where the uploaded files are stored on the NAS…
    Can somebody tell me where i can find it, or where i can change the settings for this…

    thanks for this goog tutorial… it works like a charm an i can use my “own cloud”

    Greetz @ all

  5. Hi There

    Im kinda noobish ^^ i got stuck here —> http://www.instructables.com/id/Raspberry-Pi-Owncloud-dropbox-clone/step5/setup-own-cloud/

    I tring to set upp owncloud on my nas and startx doest seem to work. “-bash: startx: command not found”
    I tried to connect wie my webbrowser as well like this “http:// MY IP /owncloud/” only error 404

    Im using putty to connect to my NAS. Hope anyone can help me : / (and sry for my bad english)

    Greetz : )

  6. Hi,

    I have installed ownCloud on my dns-320 and it is working ( on port 8888 ).
    But I have problem with ssh version ( running on port 443 ). Client version of ownCloud requires to work on port ( ssh => 443 ).
    If this is not a problem please advice me how to use www version of ownCloud on my dns-320.

    Regards

  7. Hi,
    I make all tutorial points, and when i restart apache, the nas say me an error:

    root@DNS320:/# service apache2 restart
    Restarting web server: apache2apache2: Could not reliably determine the server’s fully qualified domain name, using 192.168.1.2 for ServerName
    apache2: Could not reliably determine the server’s fully qualified domain name, using 192.168.1.2 for ServerName
    (98)Address already in use: make_sock: could not bind to address 0.0.0.0:443
    no listening sockets available, shutting down
    Unable to open logs
    Action ‘start’ failed.
    The Apache error log may have more information.

    Escuse me for my english

    Thanks

  8. The linked guide to installing Debian also includes SickBeard and SABnzbd and GIT and other stuff which probably isn’t necessary for ownCloud

  9. Currently using fun_plug on my NAS with a media server package. Does the debian installation overwrite fun_plug and will it stop the media server working?

  10. Pingback: Installation de Debian sur clé USB d’un NAS D-Link DNS-320/325/320L (W)

Leave a Reply

